ATA19 Annual Conference and Expo Awards

Award Nominations are now closed.

Thank you for your participation!

Award Categories

  • President’s Award for Innovation in Remote Healthcare
  • President’s Award for the Transformation of Healthcare Delivery
  • ATA’s Champion Award
  • ATA’s Woman of the Year Award

Please contact Sabrina Smith with any questions related to ATA19 Annual Conference Awards.

Nominating Process

All active ATA members are eligible to submit nominations. Submissions can be made for a project, program, institution, or individual in the telehealth field. All nominating material must be submitted using the online nomination platform.

Selection Process

Awards will be determined by an award committee composed of recognized authorities in the telehealth industry. Nominations must include documentation that the nominee has contributed to the substantial development and/or deployment of telehealth. The basis for judgment and selection of award recipients will be the documents submitted to the Association. Please note, projects and institutions affiliated with current officers of the ATA are ineligible.

Submission Checklist

Prior to submission, make sure you have all the items required.

  • Name of nominator (can be self)
  • Name of nominee (can be self)
  • Nominee overview – an abstract detailing how the nominee meets the selection of criteria (maximum of 150 words)
  • Support/endorsement letter(s) (not required, but suggested)
  • Contact information for nominator and nominee

Submission deadline

All nominations must be received by 11:59 pm PST on Friday, January 11, 2019.

Award winners will be notified the week of February 4, 2019.

President’s Award for Innovation in Remote Healthcare recognizes organizations making remarkable advances in telehealth. To be considered for this award, one or more of the following criteria must be met:

  • Innovative new technology development or adaptation
  • Novel use of technology leading to innovative health applications and social services support at the individual or community level
  • Creative strategies for removing barriers to implementation and adoption Innovative approaches to fostering partnerships and collaboration
  • Innovative ways of responding to needs of end-users and/or improving ergonomics
  • New ideas, concepts, formulation and paradigms, and new ways of thinking “outside the box”

Previous winners:

2004 – VISICU and MedAire

2005 – iNTERFACEWARE and In Touch Health

2006 – HealthPia America and Health-e-Access Program

2007 – Antenatal and Neonatal Guidelines, Education and Learning System

2008 – Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Care Coordination Services

2009 – Continua Health Alliance

2010 – Corventis AVIVO and Myca Health

2011 – Michael D. Abramoff, MD, PhD, Automated Medical Diagnostics (AMDx)

2012 – PTSD Coach Mobile Application (T2)

2013 – DOD Safe Helpline Mobile Application

2014 – Burke Mental Health Emergency Center

2015 – Sentrian, The Remote Patient Intelligence Company

2016 – Propeller Health

2017 – Tyto Care

2018 – HemoMD

President’s Award for the Transformation of Healthcare Delivery recognizes the leadership of an organization that incorporates virtual healthcare services (i.e., telehealth) as part of an initiative resulting in improved quality and better value healthcare for a large population of patients. Consideration for this award will factor impact on the population served, including:

  • Special needs groups
  • Academic output such as peer-reviewed research and presentations
  • Targeted education programs
  • Number of sites
  • Business case or business model
  • Long-term sustainability
  • Effective partnerships and collaboration

Previous winners:

1996 – Jane Preston, MD

1997 – Georgia Telemedicine Program

1998 – Oklahoma Telemedicine Program

1999 – Kansas University TeleMedicine Services

2000 – Memorial University of Newfoundland

2001 – Arizona Telemedicine Program

2002 – Eastern Montana Telemedicine Network

2003 – Missouri Telehealth Network

2004 – Alaska Federal Health Care Access Network (AFHCAN)

2005 – North Network

2006 – University of California Davis, Center for Health & Technology

2007 – University of New Mexico, Center for Telehealth

2008 – Medical Missions for Children

2009 – Avera Health – Telehealth

2010 – Orbis international

2011 – University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

2012 – Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center

2013 – University of New Mexico, Project Echo

2014 – Center for Rural Health Innovation: MY Health-e-Schools

2015 – Center for Telehealth, University of Mississippi

2016 – United Health Centers of the San Joaquin Valley

2017 – New York Presbyterian on Demand

2018 – Nemours Children’s Health System Center for Health Delivery Innovation

ATA’s Champion Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to ATA’s strategy to advocate for public policy changes that open payment support and provide regulatory relief.

To be considered for this award, a minimum of two of the following criteria must be met:

  • Has demonstrated leadership in educating the public and/or government about telehealth and telehealth services
  • Has demonstrated leadership in working with state licensure boards and government bodies to eliminate barriers for the use of telehealth
  • Has shown dedication and commitment to working with state, local, or government officials in expanding reimbursement for telehealth services
  • Has collaborated with vested stakeholders to develop legislation that will allow providers to treat patients across state lines without needing to obtain multiple state medical licenses

Previous winner:

2018 – S. David McSwain, M.D., Medical University of South Carolina

ATA’s Woman of the Year Award will recognize a woman who exemplifies exceptional leadership and entrepreneurial qualities. She is recognized by her peers as an inspirational executive that leads with strong business acuity and is lauded for her ability to recognize and empower future female leaders.

To be considered for this award, a minimum of three of the following criteria must be met:

  • CEO or Executive Director of a telehealth company, organization, or agency for a minimum of 5 years
  • Has consistently shown growth of an organization through developing or improving products, services, and/or revenue that advances the mission of telehealth
  • Has demonstrated commitment to fostering the growth and development of women in telehealth
  • Inspires others through her actions and words
  • Serves as a catalyst for innovative approaches to advance telehealth and women in telehealth

Previous winner:

2018 – Deanna Larson, CEO, Avera eCare